Home » Departments » Elections Department

Elections Department

» Go to Department website

Additional Chief Electoral Officer

Shri. L. Kumar
Address : Election Department,
Office : +91-413-2292204, +91-413-2292205
Mobile : 9486267824
Fax : +91-413-2292206
Email : jtceo_pondicherry@eci.gov.in

Deputy Chief Electoral Officer

Thiru. Thillaivel. B
Address : Election Department,

 The Elections Department is functioning under the superintendence, directions and control of the Election Commission of India. The Elections Department mainly deals with preparation and updation of Electoral Rolls, conduct of Elections to the Lok Sabha, Puducherry Legislative Assembly, Office of the President and Vice-President of India and Biennial Election to the Council of States (Rajya Sabha).

      The Election Department deals with the following main Acts and Rules enacted by the Parliament:

The Constitution of India.
The Representation of People Act, 1950
The Representation of People Act, 1951
The Registration of Electors Rules, 1960
The Parliament (Prevention of Disqualifications), Act 1959
The Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order 1968
The Conduct of Election Rules, 1961
The Presidential and Vice Presidential Elections Rules, 1974
The Delimitation Act, 2002

      The Elections Department is also governed by various instructions issued by the Election Commission of India from time to time.

      This site is primarily designed to provide requisite information to the public regarding the election machinery.  It is a transparent measure to enable the public access information regarding their electoral rights, procedures to be followed, the officials to be contacted, etc.  Various statutory forms are also available on the site for downloading.  The site also provides ready access to the Electoral Rolls.

Page updated on 07/08/2019 10:32 IST